Office Phone (916) 373-3710


Thursday, June 24, 2021

9:00 am to 10:30 am

Remote Virtual Meeting (See Instructions Below)

Notices and agendas for Native American Heritage Commission meetings and public hearings may be found at Agenda items may be taken out of order.

Commissioners will participate remotely. The public may participate and provide public comment during the public comment periods by telephone or zoom, and otherwise observe remotely in accordance with Bagley-Keene Open Meetings Act per Executive Order No. 25-20:

“All requirements in both the Bagley-Keene Act and the Brown Act expressly or impliedly requiring the physical presence of members, the clerk or other personnel of the body, or of the public as a condition of participation in or quorum for a public meeting are hereby waived. In particular, (i) any otherwise-applicable requirements that state and local bodies notice each teleconference location from which a member will be participating in a public meeting.”

Live audio streaming and archived audio of this Commission meeting may be heard at

Please click the link below to join the webinar:

Or Telephone:


USA 214 765 0479 US Toll

USA 888 278 0296 US Toll-free

Conference code: 596019




  1. Welcome
  2. Roll Call
  3. Introduction of Commissioners, Staff, and Attorney General’s Representative
  4. Traditional Opening


  1. UC Repatriation Committee Nominations – Commissioners Pagaling and Lopez-Keifer

(Pursuant to Cal. H&S §8026, approval of Nominations to the University of California Systemwide and Campus NAGPRA Repatriation and Implementation Committees.)

The following individuals have been recommended by the NAHC Subcommittee to be duly nominated and selected to serve in the following capacity:

Systemwide NAGPRA Implementation and Oversight Committee

(UC/Tribal Affiliation in parenthesis)

UC – Robin DeLugan (UC Merced)

UC – Patrick Naranjo (UC Berkeley)

UC – Sarah Biscarra Dilley (UC Davis)

UC – Alejandra Dubcovsky (UC Riverside)

Tribal – Isaac Bojorquez (Kakoon Ta Ruk Ohlone ) (NFR)

Tribal – Laura Miranda (Pechanga Band of Luiseno Indians) (FR)

Tribal – Buffy McQuillen (Round Valley Tribes) (FR)

Tribal – Johnny Hernandez, Jr. (San Manuel Band of Mission Indians) (FR)


NAGPRA Implementation Campus Committees:

(UC/Tribal Affiliation in parenthesis)

UC Berkeley Campus Committee

UC – Amy Lonetree (UC Santa Cruz)

UC – Phenocia Bauerle (UC Berkeley)

UC – Sabrina Agarwal (UC Berkeley)

Tribal – Vince Medina (Ohlone Indian Tribe) (NFR)

Tribal – Creed Stedman (United Auburn Indian Community) (FR)

Tribal – Daniel Fonseca (Shingle Springs Band of Miwok Indians) (FR)


UC Davis Campus Committee

UC – Justin Spence (UC Davis)

UC – Christyann Darwent (UC Davis)

UC – Anthony Burris (UC Davis)

Tribal – Tracy Foster-Olstad (Nor Rel Muk Wintu) (NFR)

Tribal – Michelle LaPena (Pit River Tribe) (FR)

Tribal – Leland Kinter (Yoche Dehe) (FR)


UC San Diego Campus Committee

UC – Elena Hood (UC San Diego)

UC – Ross Frank (UC San Diego)

UC – Isabel Rivera-Collazo (UC San Diego)

Tribal – Makayla Murillo (San Luis Rey Band of Mission Indians) (NFR)

Tribal – Stanley Rodriguez (Iipay Nation of Santa Ysabel) (FR)

Tribal – Paul Cuero, Jr. (Campo Kumeyaay Nation) (FR)


UC Santa Barbara Campus Committee

UC – Jon Daehnke (UC Santa Cruz)

UC – Stuart Tyson Smith (UC Santa Barbara)

UC – Gregory Johnson (UC Santa Barbara)

Tribal – M. Cristina Gonzales (Coastal Band of the Chumash Nation) (NFR)

Tribal – Nakia Zavalla (Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Indians) (FR)

Tribal – Ramona Romero Hernandez (Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Indians) (FR)


UC Riverside Campus Committee

UC – Matthew Hall (UC Riverside)

UC – Steven Mandeville-Gamble (UC Riverside)

UC – Douglas Kennett (UC Santa Barbara)

Tribal – Cami Mojado (San Luis Rey Band of Mission Indians) (NFR)

Tribal – Eva Trujillo (Mesa Grande Band of Diegueno Mission Indians) (FR)

Tribal – Myra Masiel (Pechanga Band of Luiseno Indians) (FR)


UC Los Angeles Campus Committee

UC – Angela Riley (UC Los Angeles)

UC – Justin Richland (UC Irvine)

UC – Heather Ponchetti Daly (UC San Diego)

Tribal – Kimberly Morales-Johnson (Gabrieleno/Tongva San Gabriel Band of Mission Indians)(NFR)

Tribal – Kathleen Marshall (Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Indians) (FR)

Tribal – Charmaine McDarment (Tule River Tribe) (FR)


  1. Commissioner Announcements

PUBLIC COMMENT – Public comment will be limited to 5 minutes for each speaker, unless otherwise determined by the Commission.

 Please email your public comments to by 4:00PM Wednesday, June 23, 2021. All submissions should include “Public Comment” in the subject line, your name, who you represent, and the subject you wish to address.

The public may comment on any item on the agenda before action is taken on the item.

10:30 AM         ADJOURNMENT – At the end of Public Comment or 10:30 AM whichever is first.

*The Native American Heritage Commission complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need additional information or assistance, please contact the Commission at (916) 373-3710 or via email at Our website address is: Follow us on Twitter: @CA_NAHC